# TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD APPROVED MEETING MINUTES

Of April 23, 2021

#### **Call to Order:**

Chairperson Lina Ortega called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:03 am at the El Paso MPO Office, 211 N. Florence, Boardroom Suite 103, and El Paso, TX 79901, conducted telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES		MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
1. Lina Ortega (Chair)	TX State Representative, 77th District		Joseph Cervantes	NM Senator, District 31
2. Walter Miller (V-Chair)	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon		Esteban Olivas	Alderman, Town Clint
3. Ellen Smyth		r, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Antonio Araujo	Mayor City of San Elizario
4. César Blanco	TX State Senator		Raymundo Lara	NM State Representative – 34th District
5. Manuel Leos	Mayor,	Village of Vinton	Benjamin Romero	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
6. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM		Cissy Lizarraga	City Representative, District 8
7. Ricardo Samaniego	Judge, El Paso County		Art Fierro	TX State Representative – 79th District
8. Yvette Hernandez	Grant Funded Program Director, COEP		Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District
9. Cassandra Hernandez	City Representative – District 3		Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District
10. Tommy Gonzalez	City Manager, City of El Paso		Trent Doolittle	District Engineer, NMDOT
11. Norma Palacios	Public Works Director, County of El Paso		Claudia Ordaz-Perez	TX State Representative – 76th District
12. Henry Rivera	City Representative – District 7		Ivy Avalos	Mayor, City of Socorro
13. Chuck McMahon	Doña Ana County Assist. Manager of Operations			
14. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT – El Paso			
	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3		MPO STAFF	
16. Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, EP International Airport		Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
17. Oscar Leeser	Mayor, City of El Paso		Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
18. Diana Trujillo	Mayor	Anthony, NM	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
19.			Gabriela Lopez	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
20.			Marisol Enriquez	Admin. Secretary / TPB Recording Sec
21.			Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner
22.			Lizeth Peña	Administrative Specialist
23.			Salvador Gonzalez Ayala	Transportation Manager
24.			Sonia Perez	Regional Transportation Planner
25.				
OTHERS PRESENT			OTHERS PRESENT	
Art Estrada – TXDOT		Jason Rodriguez – HNTB	Raul Ortega- City of El Paso	
Blanca Serrano - TXDOT		Jesus Trejo – Sun Metro	Sean McAtee – Cambridge	
Chris Canales – Rep. Lizarraga		Kelvin Kroeker - HNTB		
Priscilla Contreras –Rep. He Rivera		Marty Boyd – TXDOT		
Cassandra Urrutia - Rep. L. Ortega		Mayela Granados – Senator Blanco's Office		
Eddie Valtier – TXDOT		Nicholette Ruiz –Judge Samaniego's Office		
Greg McNicol – TPAC Chair		Thelma Ramirez- TXDOT		
(Manting bases with 17 man				

(Meeting began with 17 members)

### **DISCUSSION AND ACTION:**

Approve the minutes of the March 26, 2021 Transportation Policy Bard (TPB) meeting.
Motion to approve the minutes for the February 19, 2021 Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting, as amended, made by Representative Henry Rivera, and seconded by Commissioner Iliana Holguin. Motion passed unanimously.

<u>DISCUSSION AND ACTION TO APPROVE RECOMMENDATIONS FROM THE TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE</u> TO:

<sup>\*</sup> No Public Comment: No member of the public signed up for Initial Public Comment.

- 2. Amend the Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Amended Destino 2045 MTP, Destino 2019-2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and Destino 2021-2024 TIP to:
  - a) Amend the IH 10 Widening (Eastlake to FM 1281) to move from Fiscal Year (FY) 2022 to FY 2021.

Motion to amend the Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Amended Destino 2045 MTP, Destino 2019-2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and Destino 2021-2024 TIP to:

a) Amend the IH 10 Widening (Eastlake to FM 1281) to move from Fiscal Year (FY) 2022 to FY 2021 made by Alderman Walter Miller, and seconded by Representative Henry Rivera. Motion passed unanimously.

#### **REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:**

- 3. Administratively amend the Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Amended Destino 2045 MTP, Destino 2019-2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and Destino 2021-2024 TIP to amend the IH 10 Widening (Antonio St. to Mesa St) to replace a partial amount of category 2 Metropolitan Area (TMA) Corridor Projects with State Infrastructure Bank (SIB) Loan funds in FY 2022 Status report provided by EPMPO Eduardo Calvo
- City of El Paso PM-10 Classification Request.

Status report provided by EPMPO - Claudia Valles

\*Walter Miller commented

\*Eduardo Calvo commented

 Status Update on the use of Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) funds transferred to Metro Federal Transit Administration (FTA) for Sun Metro Projects

Status report provided by Sun Metro - Jesus Trejo

\*Ellen Smyth commented

RMS 2050 Travel Demand Model Status Report

Status report provided by Cambridge Systematics – Sean McAtee

7. RMS Multimodal Analysis update

Status report provided by HNTB – Jason Rodriguez

\*Ellen Smyth commented

\*Oscar Leeser

\*Sam Rodriguez

\*Cassandra Hernandez commented

\*Eduardo Calvo commented

\*Ricardo Samaniego

8. Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2020 Project Development Status Report

Status report provided by EPMPO – Eduardo Calvo

- 9. Executive Director's Report
  - a) Notice of Funding Opportunity for FY2021 RAISE grant program (former BUILD, TIGER)
  - b) The American Jobs Plan

Status report provided by EPMPO – Eduardo Calvo

\*Walter Miller commented

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>May 21, 2021</u> at the El Paso MPO Office located at 211 N. Florence Street, Suite 103 (MPO Boardroom on 1st Floor), El Paso, TX 79901.

\*These projects met the seven-day public comment requirement of the El Paso MPO's Public Participation Plan.

14. Adjournment.

Motion to adjourn at 10:19 a.m. made by Commissioner Iliana Holguin, seconded by Norma Palacios. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION:**

The Transportation Policy Board may retire into **EXECUTIVE SESSION** pursuant to the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, Subchapter D, to discuss any of the following: (The items listed below are matters of the sort routinely discussed in Executive Session, but the Transportation Policy Board may move

to Executive Session any of the items on this agenda, consistent with the terms of the Open Meetings Act.) The Transportation Policy Board will return to open session to take any final action and may also, at any time during the meeting, bring forward any of the following items for public discussion, as appropriate.

## The TPB did not retire into Executive Session.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the

Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area